GNOME Builder + Python: How can I import python packages?

Hello! So I’m very new to using Builder and GTK and I am kind of lost on why Builder doesn’t recognize packages installed using pip. For one of my projects I needed to use pynput so I just:
pip3 install pynput
but Builder gives a ModuleNotFound error when I try to import it. Is there something else I should do when using external python packages with Builder?
I tried searching and looked at the docs but couldn’t find anything helpful. Thanks in advance!

Hi! :slight_smile:

How are you building your app (buildsystem-wise)? Did you use one of Builder’s project templates? What I assume is happening is that Builder is using the template’s flatpak manifest, which can’t access your host python libraries because Flatpaks are in a sandbox. So you’d need to either switch to a host build (in the Build Configuration with the top-left header bar button, switch to the non selected one in the sidebar), or build your python module in the flatpak manifest, with this tool.

2 Likes

I am using the GNOME Application template of Builder for my project and from what I understand, it uses the Meson buildsystem.

I tried both, the first one didn’t work (which actually I don’t know why it didn’t, it still can’t find the package although it is installed on my system). The second one using the tool almost worked but when I put the json in my project folder (and add it as a module in the main project json) it can’t find pynput on pip while building:
which is weird since pynput does exist on pip and
pip3 install pynput
works just fine normally.

My best guess is that may be using Python 2 somehow?

Hmm, yeah that seems like the case since it also doesn’t work on the host build but if I take a look at src/meson.build
it is looking for python3 (I think?) so I am kinda confused here. Is there a way to check which python version the project is using? or a way to change it?