Board Candidate: Regina Nkenchor

Name: Regina Nkenchor

E-mail:nkemregina@gnome org

Corporate Affiliation: IKEA IT AB, OpenKids Africa

Dear Foundation Members,

I’m writing to formally announce my candidacy for the GNOME Foundation Board of Directors in the June 2024 elections.

With over a decade of experience in the technology industry I have had the opportunity to interact with a diverse spectrum of stakeholders. I am currently a software engineer at IKEA, where I also advocate for open source as an OSPO Ambassador. In addition, I am the founder of the non-profit OpenKids Africa, which provides technology lessons to children in rural African schools. I am also a maintainer of the GNOME Africa project, a community of GNOME contributors in Africa.

My background includes non-profit work, developer relations, marketing and advocacy, program management, and OSPO.

As a GNOME Foundation member for over five years, my goal has been to raise awareness and promote diversity within the GNOME project. I have also worked to encourage cross-community interaction and enhance the project’s appeal to funders from a diversity perspective. I believe that broadening the GNOME project’s reach to a diverse audience will increase its visibility, attract contributors, and make it more appealing to potential funders. After conducting internal research in 2022, I have continued to focus on these efforts and would love to extend this work in the next board term.

During this board term (2022-2024), one of our primary goals was to create a strategic direction for the GNOME project that caters to the diverse needs of the foundation. I worked with the board and the Executive Director to develop this strategic direction, which is currently under review by the community. This strategic plan will enable the board to set clear goals and metrics for the Executive Director, ensuring that initiatives are delivered with accountability and efficiency.

My priorities for the foundation are: