2024 Board Candidate: Karen Sandler

Hi everyone, a few people have asked me to run for the board, so here I go!

Name: Karen Sandler
Email: karen@gnome.org
Organization affiliations: Software Freedom Conservancy, Columbia Law School (Lecturer-In-Law), also on the board of the Spritely Institute and a non-uploading Debian Developer

Here’s the tl;dr of my application:

* I am a former ED of GNOME Foundation and an ongoing contributor, so I know a lot of what goes into running the org, and I know many of the community members very well
* I've got over a decade of experience running free software nonprofits
* I've had significant experience applying for and managing grants
* I have a lot of experience with governance issues
* I love GNOME and care deeply about software freedom!

I’m proud to be a contributor to GNOME since around 2007, I think, starting with pro bono legal help to the project, then expanding to marketing and other strategic work.