Why doesn't my gschema added to dconf after enablnig my extension

Hello there,
I’m new in extension development, I’ve created an extension and I want to save some preferences in gsettings, so I created a <extension-root>/schemas/org.gnome.shell.extensions.my-extension.gschema.xml

And this is my file:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<schemalist>
  <schema id="org.gnome.shell.extensions.my-extension" path="/org/gnome/shell/extensions/my-extension/">
    <key name="gtk-light" type="s">
      <default>"Adwaita"</default>
    </key>
    <key name="gtk-dark" type="s">
      <default>"Adwaita-dark"</default>
    </key>
    <key name="icon-light" type="s">
    </key>
    <key name="icon-dark" type="s">
    </key>
    <key name="shell-light" type="s">
      <default>"Default"</default>
    </key>
    <key name="shell-dark" type="s">
      <default>"Default"</default>
    </key>
  </schema>
</schemalist>

Then I compiled it:

$ glib-compile-schemas schemas/
$ ls schemas 
gschemas.compiled  org.gnome.shell.extensions.my-extension.gschema.xml

Disabling, re-enablig extension, logging out and logging back in and even restarting doesn’t change dconf (nor gsettings) :frowning:

Am I missing something?

Schemas are only looked up in specific paths (like /usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas).

Shell extensions are (usually) not installed system-wide, so you must specify the path to the schema:

$ gsettings \
  --schemadir = ~/.local/share/gnome-shell/extensions/my-extension/schemas \
  get org.gnome.shell.extensions.my-extension frobnicate

That’s also the reason the getSettings() convenience method exists - you cannot simply create the settings object with

new Gio.Settings({schema_id: 'org.gnome.shell.extensions.my-extension'});

if the schema isn’t installed globally.

2 Likes