Using GXML for deserializing XML to GObject

@esodan ping.
Explanation for others, this is a continuation of this discussion.

One more time. I don’t understand why I might need deserialization from XML to GObject. If I work with unknown data. (It’s not possible to create a GObject with certain fields on the fly) ((Maybe I don’t understand something, I’m really new to this all.))

PS I will use GXML anyway because it looks like it will be much more convenient to list nodes with it.
Now I see something like this.

• Get a list of all nodes via child_nodes() at the root.
  • Display them all in GTK.
  • Repeat for each item in this list recursively.

Lets say you have the following XML document:

<gtk:Entry Text="This is a label"/>

This can be mapped to:

class UiEntry : GXml.Element {
    [Description(nick="::Text")]
    public string text { get; set; }
    construct {
         initialize_with_namespace ("gtk", "https://www.gtk.org/ui", "Entry");
    }
}

Now you can use GXml.DomElement.read_from_string() to read above XML document and the UiEntry.text property will get the value of the attribute Text, using the following code:

var e = new UiEntry ();
e.read_from_string("<Gtk:Entry Text=\"This is a label\"/>");

Pay attention to ::Text, because you should use :: in order to help GXml to find the properties you want to map as attributes and what name to use.

Now lets say you have an entry in a container, the concept of container is going away in gtk4, with the code:

<gtk:Box orientation="Horizontal">
   <Gtk:Entry Text="This is a label"/>
</gtk:Box>

First all, we need to define a class for gtk:Box:

class UiEntry : GXml.Element {
    [Description(nick="::orientation")]
    public Gtk.Orientation  orientation { get; set; }
    public UiChildren children { get; set; }
    construct {
         initialize_with_namespace ("gtk", "https://www.gtk.org/ui", "Box");
         child = new UiChildren ();
    }
}