Thumbnails of windows or root window

Hello,

I did not know where to ask, and i am new to GTK.

I want to write a GTK application that will show a thumbnail, or preview image of a window, or the root window (in x11 term, maybe can also be called the desktop). Could this be possible in GTK (2, or 3, or gtk+)? What API can i use to do this?

Regards,
Riza

Hello, thanks for asking that, that’s a great question with a bit of a complicated answer. GTK alone cannot do this, because it only handles drawing the GUI for applications. Capturing images from the desktop or from other applications requires interaction with the window system. How you do it somewhat depends on your platform and what you’re trying to do.

If you use X11 and GTK3, the simplest way may be to use gdk_x11_get_default_root_xwindow combined with XGetImage. This is an older, slower method usually used for screenshots and it may work for simple cases. But it is not recommended if you want to show a live thumbnail, for example if you expect to see a video player working at full speed in the thumbnail. The XSHM API can be used to perform faster screen capture but it is harder to use. The DRI3 API can do it fastest out of all of the X11 APIs, but that is also the hardest one to use.

Note that these are not supported on Wayland for security reasons. If you want to support Wayland, you will maybe want to use the ScreenCast portal API which is a D-Bus API. This can work for capturing the desktop or a few windows that the user chooses, but it may be inadequate for trying to capture a large number of individual window thumbnails at the same time.