Segfault when passing socket connection through property

, ,

Hi fellas,

Heads up - this is my first time ever posting on something like this, so I’m not really sure if this is the right place for it.

Basically, I have a GSocketConnection * that I pass from a GtkApplicationWindow via a signal to the GtkApplication class. I’m inheriting the classes as is done in the Getting Started GTK4 documentation. I pass the object plainly via the signal and then in the application class, I initialize another GtkApplicationWindow and have attempted to pass the socket connection object as a property in many different ways.

However, while sometimes it goes through without warning, the line I use to test the object is valid:

g_print ("%b\n", g_socket_connection_is_connected (G_SOCKET_CONNECTION (g_value_get_pointer (&sock_val))));

Always segfaults. That’s just an example of the line. Currently, I am making a reference with g_object_ref and storing that pointer in a GValue and then passing it and unwrapping it with g_value_get_pointer, but I have also tried just passing it cleanly, i.e. the GSocketConnection* object itself - still segfaults. I have tried putting the socket connection in a GValue but that also fails.

My last issue is that the constructed method that I override is being ran before my properties are set.

I know this is a lot of issues to ask for help with, and so I would be immensely grateful to anyone that could help me out. At the root of it, I just want to know how to pass my GSocketConnection* object to another class and use it without segfaulting.

Thank you.

I suspect you’ll need to post a minimal, complete code sample that shows the issue - otherwise readers will have to do a lot of guessing, which is rarely productive.

application.c

static void connection_made (ChatAppApplication *app, GSocketConnection *conn,
    gpointer data)
{
  g_print ("Application notified that socket connection made!\n");

if (conn)
  {
    GSocketAddress *addr =