Search applications - which version

Sorry but Gnome newbie here…I downloaded and installed a new version of an app, then I press the search hotkey and type the app’s name in, I see the app’s icon and click on it but the old version runs.
How do I control what lists in the search? How can i see which app the icons listed are invoking?

Hmm, shouldn’t often end up with two versions of the same app (how did you manage that)

Unfortunately there isn’t really a way to tell the difference other than manually editing the .desktop to change the display name

Well the vendor issued a major upgrade, so not a patch. I downloaded it then ran the .sh file to install but I don’t really know where to invoke it from.
How do I find the destination of an app once its been installed?

Well if your running random scripts who knows, fortunately since you care about the desktop entry not the “app” per se your looking at /usr/share/applications

Of course that will likely have hundreds of files in it but you should be able to find it as ${APPID}.desktop or the older-style ${APPNAME}.desktop. Of course working out which is new vs old is another matter

Really this is an issue for $vendor who are shipping their app weird, ask them to use flatpak (or whatever package format your distro might favour)

Thanks, I’ll ask them.

Not saying it’s that, but one thing that might happen is that the application didn’t close (it might for example continue running in background), so even if the upgrade worked, it’s the in-memory application that is called when clicking on the icon. So be sure the application has completely terminated (closing and reopening the session, or things like that).

It is phpstorm, I have a feeling it keeps all the old versions, it doesn’t purge them but I’m still unclear about how to make sure you’re starting the right one.