Rounded window corner support for all non-gtk apps

Hey there! First, lemme just say that I am new to linux and kind of am unaware of how stuff works under the hood. Few months ago I had posted about a request for rounded corners on non-gtk apps but was told that it was not possible in such a global scale. But then Mac os and windows 11 does that already. But then recently I came accross this mutter-rounded which is a fork of the default mutter compsitor that enables rounded corners for all gtk-3 and non-gtk windows, with some added features. So, Iā€™ve been using that for some time now on fedora 35 on wayland with both intel and nvidia graphics, and with mutter version 41.3-1 and everything seems fine and has no observable hit to the overall performance. Though there has been some bugs with firefox, microsoft edge dev and chrome unstable while running them native on wayland where the bottom corners are buggy and not rendered correctly.

So, is there any plan for the gnome devs to carry this upstream? Because the mutte-rounded implementation seemed quiet solid to me(except for the mentioned issue). Again, as I said, I am relatively new to linux so I might be missing out on some very important details and would love if someone would detail me on some of the important issues with this prospect, but in my opinion, rounded corners for all windows in Gnome should have been done, or atleast discussed of before, given that the gtk4 gnome apps are already heading in that direction.

Thank you for your time!

1 Like

Disclaimer: I am not a GNOME dev, and Iā€™m not very knowledgeable in the matter, either, so take everything I say with a grain of salt.

But then Mac os and windows 11 does that already.

I donā€™t think thatā€™s true. macOS and Windows donā€™t clip corners on all windows, either. The corners are rounded using their native toolkits, same as in GNOME if the app uses libadwaita.