Portal components in native applications

• Arch Linux | Kernel 6.6.1
  • Gnome-shell | Mutter 45.1
  • Wayland (gnome-shell --no-x11)
  • Evolution: 3.50.1
  • Xdg-desktop-portal 1.18.1

Newbie here to the world of portals after having them foisted upon me via dependencies:

libportal
├─libportal-gtk3
│ └─file-roller
├─libportal-gtk4
│ └─nautilus
│   └─python-nautilus
│     └─nautilus-open-any-terminal
└─nautilus

I do no use flatpak in any fashion. So, I’m curious about a few things…

1. Why do native applications have portal components and/or sandbox expectations?
  2. Can these be disabled at build time?

I opened (and closed after building xdg-desktop-portal main), this issue:

And see here for the new Evolution-specific issue:

The Evolution application package has no portal dependencies, but expects a sandbox regardless?

I assume this is an outright bug, but per @mcrha… “The only portal Evolution talks to directly (over D-Bus) is org.freedesktop.portal.Settings on org.freedesktop.portal.Desktop, to get notifications about color scheme changes.”

Can any portal/flatpak experts here help me understand such hooks into native apps? Thanks in advance for any guidance.

1 Like

Broadly speaking, there’s nothing magical about portals; they’re just D-Bus services. They don’t require sandboxed applications to be useful, and in many cases, they are the only cross-desktop interface available.

What do you mean by expectations?

If you’re asking about a dependency on libportal, it is simply a small client-side D-Bus library. As far as I know, libportal does not depends on a portal service to actually be running or installed.

That depends on the application and its build system, but again, libportal is really just a convenience wrapper around D-Bus calls.

Thank you for the speedy response!

So, this dependency of libportal on xdg-desktop-portal would be a packaging issue specific to Arch linux? (See Required By:)

$ pacman -Qi xdg-desktop-portal