Is it possible to set widget size proportions with GTK (e.g. inside GtkBox)?

Hi! I’m new to GTK and trying to make a simple music synthesizer app with it. One of the UI elements is a screen keyboard to indicate pressed buttons:

I implemented it using vertical GtkBox containing 5 horizontal GtkBox's. I want all the keys to be the same size and for that, I set all GtkBox's homogeneous. But the number of keys in each row isn’t the same, so some rows should have dynamic margins on the left and right (as on screenshot). For now I just hardcoded them, but ideally, I want them to resize proportionally to other keys. How would it be possible to implement that?

I see multiple hypothetical solutions:

1. I could put the keyboard into GtkGrid and just start last 2 rows not from the first collumn. For now it’s easy, I can have 24 collumns, each key is 2 cells horizontally, the last two rows starts at 1st and 2nd column accordingly. But if I’d want to change a layout just a bit (let’s say add escape key to the first row) the whole GtkGrid structure would need to be rethought.

2. If it’s possible to set a callback for window resize event and get the new window size there, I could recalculate the margins in the callback. I didn’t find any appropriate event on GtkWindow and GtkWidget, is there one? Anyway, this solution looks uglier to me, and I’m not sure if the resize will remain smooth.

3. Ideally, I would want some mechanism that allows setting proportions between GtkBox children sizes. I would put empty labels instead of margins. It would also allow to add keys with different sizes (e.g. “Shift” with 2.5x width compared to other buttons). Is it possible?

I’m using Rust and GTK-rs if it matters. Thanks for your time!

P.S. Is it the right place to ask questions like this? If no, I’m sorry, could you please point me where to go with it?

1 Like

Hi, you may try setting all 5 horizontal boxes as hexpand=false and halign=GTK_ALIGN_CENTER.