Insights from an extension author

Hello,

Following this blog poston t he GNOME Extensions Rebooted initiative, I’d like to expose some of my workflow and the challenges I encounter while developing the Night Theme Switcher extension. This extension allows the user to automatically switch its GTK theme, Shell theme, icon theme, cursor theme, wallpapers and to run commands at sunrise and sunset. It reacts to Night Light, or uses location to calculate times, or the user can set a custom schedule, or add a button to switch whenever they want.

To start with some background, I am not a developer. I mainly work in artistic fields, and chose GNOME because it gets out of my way when I need to focus on a project. However, I learnt some programming by myself, mainly Javascript and Python, for my websites and to help me automate some tasks. As such, I don’t have a professional experience in programming, so my workflow and my design patterns may be flawed, I do what works best for me.

First steps

I started working on the extension almost one year ago. The initial goal was simple: switch the GTK theme to dark when Night Light turns on.

I used the Writing page of the GNOME wiki extensively as a reference to get started. As I didn’t know how to accomplish what I wanted, I looked at the source code of another program I knew did that: GNOME Builder.

The first version of the extension is basically a mix of a port of Builder C code to Javascript and the code of several other extensions that allowed to switch themes.

It worked for me, so I uploaded it to extensions.gnome.org in case it would be useful to anyone else.

Adding more functionalities