Imagine if there was GTK bindings for a modern JS engine

As a web developer, I don’t particularly like GJS because it seems to be soo distant to pure/raw/standard ECMAScript (Javascript). It seems like some entire new language.

I was thinking it’d be a cool idea if GNOME had bindings for a modern language. ECMAScript would be nice because we could use it anywhere and run in most JS engines (Deno, Node, Bun etc…) without very major changes. As a web developer, I don’t know how it can be done (probably would involve Rust to convert GObject Introspection code to wasm, then run it with JS). Types (Typescript) would be essential too as it boosts the productivity and efficiency.

It would be novel to see GObject concepts translated to JavaScript ones, such as signals → object listeners.

Here’s some sample syntax I was thinking would be amazing. It would also allow building very fast and maintenable code with JSX (if needed).

import { ApplicationWindow, Button, Label } from "gi/gtk4";

const AppModelJSX = () => {
  const counter = 0;

const increment = () => {
    counter++;
  };

const decrement = () => {
    counter--;
  };

return <ApplicationWindow
    title="Simple app"
    defaultWidth={300}
    defaultHeight={100}
  >
    <Box
      orientation="vertical"
      marginAll={5}
      spacing={5}
    >
      <Button
        label="Increment"
        onClicked={increment}
      />
      <Button
        label="Decrement"
        onClicked={decrement}
      />
      <Label
        marginAll={5}
        label={`Counter: ${counter}`}
      />
    </Box>
  </ApplicationWindow>
}

const AppModel = () => {
  const counter = 0;

const increment = () => {
    counter++;
  };

const decrement = () => {
    counter--;
  };

const window = new ApplicationWindow("Simple app");
  window.set_default_width(300);
  window.set_default_height(100);

const box = new Box("vertical" // or Gtk.Orientation.VERTICAL
    , 5);

const button1 = new Button("Increment");