How to remove scanner defects in images

Hello- The glass on my scanner has a few scratches and other defects that appear in all my image scans and I spend a lot of time fixing them with the clone tool. Instead, is there a way to make a ‘blank’ scan (of only the image glass) and then remove that image with the defects from all the ‘real’ images I scan? Can the defects be replaced with black pixels? I am just a beginner/novice with Gimp. Thanks much. sk

The technique I mention here comes from Pat David who has an excellent video on YouTube that details the following in a video about old image restoration (GIMP Image Fixup Walkthrough - YouTube).

Succinctly, Pat David does the following:

1. Use Wavelet Decompose to break the image up into levels of DETAIL, from large to fine.
  2. Duplicate the detail layer
  3. Use Color Level to significantly emphasize the detail which reveals the flaws
  4. Use a brush to paint over flaws (at each detail level, one at a time, the next few steps repeated at each detail level)
  5. Use Select By Color to select all of the painted places
  6. Shift to the “real” detail level
  7. Use Heal Selection to essentially remove the flaws on that detail layer
  8. Recombine the fixed details/residual with New Layer from Visible

What I’m proposing is that you use Wavelet Decompose (or G’MIC’s Split Details [Wavelets]) to get the details of the scan of the scanner glass, then follow the steps above to create a mask of the flaws. The Select by Color tool essentially creates a ‘copy’ of the flaws you can then past into a new image. This image can be saved and reopened, then you can again use the Select by Color tool to create a selection that is where the glass flaws are. One that’s done, you can use Heal by Selection to wipe out the flaws (or get close to it).

See if what I’ve said makes sense after viewing Pat David’s YT video.

1 Like