How to remove children from Adw.PreferencesGroup?

I’m pretty new to GTK, libadwaita and Vala.

I use Adw.PreferencesGroups in a Gtk.ListView. I use a Gtk.SignalListItemFactory to populate the Adw.PreferencesGroups with Adw.ActionRow children by using Adw.PreferencesGroup#add. On the Gtk.SignalListItemFactory.unbind signal, I’d like to remove the the children using Adw.PreferencesGroup#remove. However, I have difficulty retrieving the children from Adw.PreferencesGroup.

Minimal example to show what I mean:

public static int main(string[] args) {
    var app = new Gtk.Application("foo.bar.baz", GLib.ApplicationFlags.FLAGS_NONE);

app.activate.connect(() => {
        var group = new Adw.PreferencesGroup();
        group.add(new Adw.ActionRow());
        for (Gtk.Widget? child = group.get_first_child();
             child != null;
             child = child.get_next_sibling()) {
            stdout.printf("child: %s\n", child.name);
            group.remove(child);
        }
    });

return app.run(args);
}

I compile and run:

valac --pkg gtk4 --pkg libadwaita-1 test.vala && ./test

This prints:

child: GtkBox

(test:4914): Adwaita-CRITICAL **: 10:57:43.872: ../libadwaita/src/adw-preferences-group.c:424: tried to remove non-child 0x55a9b455c190 of type 'GtkBox' from 0x55a9b455b1d0 of type 'AdwPreferencesGroup'

The child turns out to be a Gtk.Box, not the Adw.ActionRow I put in.

Do you consider this a bug? Is there something I’m missing? What would be a way to remove a child from a Adw.PreferencesGroup (when I don’t have a reference to the child lying around)?

Versions I use:

$ pacman -Q gtk4 libadwaita
gtk4 1:4.8.3-3
libadwaita 1:1.2.1-1