How to change window elements when a button is pressed?

Hi, I am new to coding, so please be patient. I know a little bit of C, Matlab and Python (used only in terminal to create some terminal programs) and I would like to contribute by creating an application with a GUI. I read a bit but I don’t understand how does everything works

My hard question is: how can I change elements in the window, when a button is pressed? Everything returned by the functions don’t trigger changes. See this example:

Example
#!/usr/bin/python
# -*- coding: utf-8 -*-

import gi
gi.require_version('Gtk', '3.0')
gi.require_version('Handy', '0.0')
from gi.repository import Gtk, GdkPixbuf, Handy

class Program(Gtk.Window):
    def __init__(self):
        Gtk.Window.__init__(self, title="Test")
        self.set_default_size(800, 600)
        self.set_position(Gtk.WindowPosition.CENTER)

hb = Handy.HeaderBar()
        hb.set_show_close_button(True)
        hb.props.title = "Test"
        self.set_titlebar(hb)

test1 = ""
        test2 = ""

button1 = Gtk.Button()
        button1.add(Gtk.Image.new_from_icon_name(
            "document-new", Gtk.IconSize.BUTTON))
        button1.connect("clicked", self.on_new_clicked)
        hb.pack_start(button1)

button2 = Gtk.Button()
        button2.set_label("Press")
        button2.connect("clicked", self.on_button_clicked)

self.add(button2)        
        if (test1 != ""):
                label1 = Gtk.Label()
                label1.set_text(test1)
                self.add(label1)
        if (test2 != ""):
                label2 = Gtk.Label()
                label2.set_text(test2)
                self.add(label2)

def on_new_clicked(self, args):
        print("You pressed New button: it should prompt something in the main window, but it doesn't")
        test1 = "You pressed New button and everything works"
        return test1

def on_button_clicked(self, args):