How should we use the Desktop Folder in Gnome?

Hi All,

I am fairly new to Gnome, so this is no controversy topic to rehash old debates but a genuine question.

My conundrum is:

• There is a default Desktop folder in /home

• There are several Workplaces to separate distinct work themes

• No icon should be installed on the Desktop (well that’s not the intended design in Gnome 41+ anyway)

• The files and folders that we put in the Desktop folder do not show “on” the Desktop

So…: How should we use the Desktop Folder vs the “Desktop - Background”

Thanks !

• The should be no icon displayed on the desktop

The “Desktop” folder is mandated by the freedesktop.org xdg-user-dirs specification and tooling, and a lot of tools expect its existence.

The Desktop directory has nothing to do with the desktop background; additionally the Desktop directory can only be one per user, so it has nothing to do with workspaces either, which are created dynamically.

The suggestion is to simply ignore the Desktop directory. GTK hides it from the quick links in its file selection dialogs, and Nautilus does it too. You can only navigate into it. In theory, you can delete it as well, but applications like Firefox and Steam will likely recreate it.

Well specs can be changed. I think it’s long past time to improve this. GNOME removed desktop icons over a decade ago, and we shouldn’t need to keep this legacy folder around. But I do not have any good suggestions for how to remove it.

Changing the default $XDG_DESKTOP_DIR from ~/Desktop to ~/.Desktop seems like a good starting point. (If Firefox ignores that and creates ~/Desktop anyway – hopefully not – then that is not our problem.) But that would be problematic for desktops that do have desktop icons. So I’m not sure what we can really do.

Thank you for your reply !

Either way now I have a Desktop folder that is NOT the Desktop Background.