Help with ColorDialog Callback in Python

I’m using Python 3.11 and PyGObject 3.441 (Gtk4).

My window controller class adds the Gtk.ColorDialogButton to the window, then attaches Gtk.ColorDialog to the button:

colour_button: Gtk.ColorDialogButton = Gtk.ColorDialogButton()
colour_dialogue: Gtk.ColorDialog = Gtk.ColorDialog()
colour_button.set_dialog(self.colour_dialogue)

All is well and functions as expected, click the button and the dialogue appears. make a selection and press the Select button and the dialogue closes.

Having made the colour choice and pressed the ‘Select’ button I need the selection passed back via a callback to the window controller. i.e.

colour_dialogue.connect('notify::selected-item', controller.callback_function)

There is some fantastic documentation for ‘c’, rust and Vala, but I’m not experienced enough to translate from them to Python. And I continually find PyGOBject is woefully out of date.

If any one could provide a python example or a code snippet I would be grateful.

Regards
Greg

Solved …

colour_dialogue.connect('notify::selected-item', controller.callback_function)

Should be:

colour_dialogue.connect('notify', controller.callback_function)

I’m not sure where the ‘selected-item’ came from other than it appears in the signal names of other widgets in my code.
I had to try something :upside_down_face:

I’m not sure what that’s notifying on then, or whether it’s the best way to do it… If you only connect to notify generally, not for a specific property, you will probably find signal emissions happen when you don’t want them to, about properties you don’t care about. It also doesn’t make for clear code. :wink:

I would say to connect to changes/notify on ColorDialogButton:rgba instead; that seems far clearer.

Hi dboles,

Thank you for responding, your comment gave something to consider.