Guidance for working on an accessibility service

Hi,

I am a total newb here, badgeless undecorated. I have looked at the latest non-major version release notification on this forum. I assume that it represents the standard way of announcing a new minor release in this community.

I would like to use this opportunity to learn what is the way to browse the source of a particular release, this one or any other “modern” one. I see that the link to the source packages is provided there.

So preliminary, I wonder why are they called source packages? (are they transformed in some way for bundling or installation as the word implies?)

And substantially, I’d like to learn how does one look at the source code from which this release is made. Maybe someone can point me in the right direction, to the point of having the entire source code locally and being able to then build it locally with local changes, and deploy as one’s own fork to e.g. an Ubuntu desktop running an older version of of Gnome. There are many docs indeed, maybe these essentials are covered in a guide I haven’t found yet.

Maybe you can also share from your experience, some average case estimate for how long this process might take for a developer to accomplish.

Motivation: to provide transparency about my angle, my overarching angle of interest is that I would like to integrate a project enabling voice control of a linux desktop environment ― whereas my understanding is that the Gnome project as currently is, does not provide hooks for an assistive daemon being able to get the list of open windows, window under the cursor and so on, elements which are necessary for robust voice control designs as I see them.

Thanks and kind regards,
Matan

Because they contain source code, not compiled code

Someone has to compile that code before it’s overly useful for you to run on your system

1 Like