GNOME desktop on Windows via WSL2

Context: We are always looking for easier ways for people to obtain and run Endless OS (with GNOME) for evaluation or even for full regular usage. We have pushed dual boot and VM solutions but there are complications and downsides. We do find that even small technicalities form big challenges for many potential partners and users who are considering taking Endless & GNOME out into the wider world. I am wondering if running Endless OS & GNOME directly on Windows via the WSL layer may offer a smoother path forward.

I am doing a little research on the possibility of running GNOME (the full GNOME desktop and shell, not only the apps) on top of Windows. Windows now has a “WSL” layer where it runs a virtualized Linux instance (including the Linux kernel) and lets you run Linux apps on Windows, to some degree.

I don’t have any experience with WSL, this is my first time looking in a bit more detail. However, I couldn’t find anyone else exploring the challenges of doing this in the most modern form (Wayland & WSL2), so I am sharing my findings here in case it helps move this forward & encourages others to experiment.

In terms of what exists already: this can be done on WSL with Xvnc, i.e. you run GNOME on a headless X server on the Linux side and then export a VNC socket over to Windows where you can connect a VNC client. However the performance is bad here as it doesn’t use acceleration etc. It doesn’t seem worth pursuing this unaccelerated approach based on dated technologies.

Going forward then, for the not-yet-released WSL2, Microsoft has done some interesting work on making Linux GUI apps work. But it is very much app-based. They run a modified version of the Weston compositor that exports the apps over RDP to Windows. Then they run a RDP viewer “natively” to integrate the apps on the Windows desktop.