Gnome Builder's Initial Project & Template Window Is Confusing

This is something that has been bugging me for a while in Gnome Builder, so I figured I would talk about it.

To me, this appears to be a fundamental workflow problem. While the request is super simple, stick with me.

I’m a beginner that has just downloaded Gnome Builder, and opened it for the first time.

Here is what I see:

Naturally, it’s a pretty good introduction to the Gnome ecosystem, and gives people something to look at. Maybe if I am curious, I would clone one of these repositories and contribute changes to them. We know that practically nobody would actually do that as their first time Gnome Builder experience. They would just open one, look around for a little bit, be confused, and close it again.

But there are more options here:

• Create New Project

Create New Project is very misleading. Perhaps this should be called, create new project from template, or maybe even, create new project from Gnome template, or create new Gnome project. There is no option to create an actual blank “project” such as a folder, where I could use Cargo or something similar to create the scaffolding for my general purpose development project, not a complex application. Even something as obvious as making a new folder to store a .py file so I can run Python from a terminal is not obvious at all in Gnome Builder.

There could even be an option to open a small Terminal to configure a new project directory and folder, such as a Cargo project, before entering a workspace.

Or lets assume that I want to make a new folder to store a web page structure I create from scratch, that is not obvious either.