glArea renders a specific shader with low resolution (compared to glfw)

I’m trying to modify the classical sample of the GtkGLArea by replacing the triangle with the Suzanne obj shader from this old, classical OpenGL tutorial 8 (I’m new to this discourse, I have max 2 links, so I can’t put the link to www dot opengl-tutorial dot org/beginners-tutorials/tutorial-8-basic-shading).
Of course I’ve built the source from the latest OpenGL and GTK repo on my laptop HW with Linux (Fedora) and I confirm that the GLFW version perfectly renders it while unfortunately it is very low resolution in the GLArea.

I have opened an issue on gitlab about this.

Here I see automatically suggested a potential solution. Will try it an let you know.

Full code in my gist (gist dot github dot com/giuliohome/2b86e64a0186e307f53c3746bfaa6102)).

Below the specific part with VAO and the shader loader (originally coming from: github dot com/opengl-tutorials/ogl/blob/master/common/shader.cpp#L17)

glGenVertexArrays(1, &VertexArrayID);
glBindVertexArray(VertexArrayID);

m_Program = glCreateProgram();
 // Create and compile our GLSL program from the shaders
LoadShaders(m_Program, "StandardShading.vertexshader", "StandardShading.fragmentshader" );

I’d like to point out that the gthree library loads very detailed and high resolution models—including the monkey head—and uses GtkGLArea without any issue.

Great, I’ll try.

just a quick update, I’ve done

GLint default_VAO;
glGetIntegerv(GL_VERTEX_ARRAY_BINDING, &default_VAO);
std::cerr << "default VAO " << std::to_string(default_VAO) << "\n";
std::cerr << "my VAO " << std::to_string(m_Vao) << "\n";

but nothing change because the default VAO is 0 like my VAO, below the output is

[giuliohome@localhost glarea]$ ./myglarea 
default VAO 0
my VAO 0

So, I’m confused… :confused: and I’m only a beginner, I can’t solve this issue.