Feature request: Automatic scroll upwards in case of new file. Feedback needed

Years ago I used a mac with OSX and it had one feature which I really miss on Gnome. Let’s say I have my file manager open, showing the Downloads folder. When I then switch to the browser, download a file, and then switch back to the file manager, the new file is out of scope because it appeared above the last file on top. The file manager in OSX then automatically scrolls up to show the new file. Currently in Nautilus however, I have to manually scroll up before seeing the file.

I’ve been using Gnome for years and I love it, but I really really miss this tiny feature because it happens many times per day for me (and I guess for many other people too). I asked about this feature on AskUbuntu but that only resulted in a suggestion to do a feature request. On the Gnome gitlab it says feature requests are best discussed here first, which is why I’m posting here.

I’m a developer myself, but only in Python/php/Java/Go and not in C. Unfortunately I cannot commit the time needed to program this myself (and learn C in the process… :slight_smile: ). It would be great if we can at least discuss the technical implementation of this feature.

For this to work I guess you need the following:

• Store the last time the nautilus window was selected/in focus. I’m not sure if this is done already.
  • When selecting the nautilus window again (in some kind of OnSelectEvent() it should check whether files are sorted on created_datetime, and whether there are one or more files higher in the list than the current shown files and whether all these out of scope files are created after the last time the nautilus window was selected.
  • If the above is true, then nautilus should visibly scroll up to the newest created files and maybe also highlight those new files for a second or so.

Could people more knowledgeable than me chip in with their thoughts about this?

1 Like

Thanks for sharing your idea here!