Double click current folder name for path input

I know this has been discussed before but i really think with the recent changes to files it is the perfect time to implement this.

In the past the current folder in the navigation bar could be used to acces the context menu of that folder. This has been moved to a discrete button and clicking the current folder no longer has any function as far as i noticed.
(See: pathbar: Drop menu onboarding behavior (4df08a36) · Commits · GNOME / Files · GitLab)

I would propose to add a double click feature to the current folder name to switch to the path input widget.
This shouldnt break any existing workflows and is similiar to other filemangers so it would make this easier for new gnome users and should also work with touch input in mind.

I have no experience with C or gtk4/gnome development in general but it doesnt look like something that would be very hard to implement or maintain.
I looked at the code and enabling this with a single click action would probably be only one line. To filter this only for double clicks would definatly be more work but like i said i am not familair with C or GTK4.

Why is this needed tho you may ask? I would answer the following:

When you want to enter a path manually in nautilus you have to press (CTRL + L). I am a right handed person (like the majority) and have my right hand on the mouse when using a desktop ui. When i want to copy a path to nautilus im usually using the mouse and have some browser or document open where i copy the path from.

With this “Setup” the combination to access the path isn’t very user friendly imo. I dont have small hands but i cant press (Left-CTRL + L) on normal keyboards with a single hand (without using the thumb).

The current possible solutions are:

1. Use right hand to press “L” → have to “leave” the mouse
  2. Use both hands → have to “leave” the mouse
  3. Use left hand but use “Right-Control”, not a very natural movment (atleast for me)