Display h264 stream received via usb using gstreamer

Hello all,

I am very new to gstreamer, so sorry if I ask dumb questions or don’t use the correct terms.
What I want is to receive a h.264 stream from a usb device and display it (using rust).
I am already able to do the usb stuff and now have the stream in single NAL-units. When I write these into a file, I am able to open and view it.

I found the topic by min, but I think my usecase is a bit different.
If I understand gstreamer correctly, I need a quite similar pipeline as min(maybe sth easier such as {appsrc} - {decodebin} - {autovideosink} would also work?)
But my problem is, that I don’t have a file (and therefore a complete stream) that I can iter of BufRead on.
I receive NAL-units via usb and then currently store them in a Buffer (VecDeque<Vec<u8>>)

In my appsrc-Callback I now would like to do sth like

let buffer = gstreamer::Buffer::from_slice(recv_buffer.pop_front().as_slice());
let _ = appsrc.push_buffer(buffer);

However, I don’t really understand how to do this correcly (the slices aparently have to live for 'static?
I assume this can not be the correct way, because wouldn’t it create memory leaks to store the stream content statically?
Can I maybe instead of using the buffer-VecDeque and appsrc callbacks somehow directly push the received data into a (gst)buffer?

Thanks for your help and have a great new year,
Konrad

Use

let buffer = gstreamer::Buffer::from_mut_slice(recv_buffer.pop_front());
let _ = appsrc.push_buffer(buffer);

It can be created around anything that implements AsRef<[u8]> or AsMut<[u8]>, and Vec<u8> does both.

Make sure to configure the correct caps on your appsrc, you probably want video/x-h264,stream-format=byte-stream,alignment=nal in your case.