Desktop icons after backup

I’m new to Déjà Dup. I used it yesterday for the first time. It ran an auto-backup again this morning. It has left two folders on my desktop that are strange to me. When I right-click on either, I get an “Unmount” option. Funny thing is, however, neither of these folders a) appear in ~/Desktop nor b) appear when I run “mount” So my questions are as follows:

1. What are these?
  2. Where are they?
  3. Exactly what is mounted?
  4. Can I “Unmount” them?
  5. Will this happen every time Déjà Dup runs?
2 Likes

Hello! Some quick background, then some possible answers.

If you back up to certain locations (like network servers or an external drive), Deja Dup has to first mount that location (which means, make it available for reading/writing to the system). For example, if you told Deja Dup to back up to an ssh server of yours, when Deja Dup starts, it will mount that location, and an icon will show up.

The fact that you didn’t see them when running mount is interesting though. GNOME might have a state where it knows the location is relevant to you, but has not officially mounted them. Deja Dup does usually unmount the location when it’s done, automatically. And maybe GNOME kept showing the icons in that case? Or maybe they are other known partitions of your external drive that aren’t mounted, but GNOME is showing them to you anyway?

1. I’m guessing thats what those icons were. Does the name for the icons match that explanation?
  2. They aren’t really anywhere, in that case. Just possible mount locations. You can see icons on your Desktop and also if you open up the Files app, you should be able to see these mounted locations in the sidebar.
  3. The backup storage location (server / drive) gets mounted. Though it’s odd that there’s two icons, not one? That might make sense if your backup storage location is on an external drive - it might be showing an icon for each partition of the drive?