Create High Resolution Bitmaps

Hello Everyone,
I am very new to image editing and I find it hard to get more information for my problem, since its very specific.

Lets start at the beginning:

I am using a label printer form a company, which requires me to use .bmp files with a 24-bit format to print out a set of pictograms on the label. The image containing the pictograms is roughly 5x14 mm in size. As of right now, they have a very bad image quality and I was tasked with increasing said quality. Seemed pretty easy to me at first: I got the high resolution pictograms from a colleague, arranged them in the way I need them and then set the image size and resolution in Gimp. This worked as intended, I have a high quality image containing the required pictograms in the correct locations.

My problem can be described as follows:
when I export the file (which is needed since I can’t use the natural .xcf file that Gimp creates) the physical size of the image increases beyond the 5x14 mm I need.

Additional information:
when I try to print the .xcf file, the image on the paper has the correct size, when I export it as a .bmp file and open that using any other programm, the physical size increases far beyond the size I need.

I know I am a total noob and I would really appreaciate if someone far more advanced in this type of stuff would be able to help me.

Thank you very much and have a lovely day!

You can scale your image before exporting it. I would make a copy and scale the copy, so as not to lose your high resolution version. The command is “Scale Image” in the “Image” menu. You can choose the units you want to use. I do this all the time, either with GIMP or with ImageMagick’s ‘convert’ or ‘mogrify’ commands.

Hello LaurenceFinston,

That’s exactly what I am doing. I am scaling the image to the size and resolution I want it to have, and then export it as a .bmp file.