Click UI elements of focused window using keyboard

Unfortunately my carpal tunnel problems don’t get much better and I am thinking about ways to avoid using the mouse.

I really enjoy the extension “Vimium C” for Firefox, which allows to click a link without using the mouse. First, you press “F”. Then every link will be captioned with one or more letters. Next, I enter the caption of the link I want to click. See the following screenshot:

It would be really great to have a similar feature for Gnome.
I imagine this in the following way: You assign a keyboard shortcut to an arbitrary key combination. When you press it, every clickable button or input field in the focused window should be captioned like explained before. In the same way, you can click a captioned element by typing in the caption.

First, It would be great to have some feedback from you about this idea.

Secondly, I have no knowledge on how to implement this and did not find any related resources. Is there any way how to implement this? I’d happy to try to code an extension if there is a way to do this.

I hope I reached the correct site for this topic, otherwise it would be great to have a recommendation where to get any help on this task.

Thanks a lot,
Best regard

While this is a standard feature in Windows since Vista in Linux no such accessibility options I see exist and I suppose its due to the implementation of security and Wayland compositor…

I can only recommend you to check other accessibility options elsewhere or invest in a great mouse like a ergonomically vertical mouse or a trackball mouse. Alternatively an ambidextrous mouse so you can screw your left hand instead of injuring your right hand further allowing it to heal. There’s also healing exercises you can do to heal the carpal tunnel. Good luck!