Brand New User - My Thoughts, GNOME Search

Hello, all. This is my first time running desktop Linux. I have some experience with debian, ubuntu, and arch through chrome os containers, wsl, and a home server, but I have never used a DE. I have some thoughts. While the experience is generally good for my day-to-day life, there are still jarring issues. My Fedora 38 install on the framework laptop crashed a few times when I first installed it, but that seems to be resolved.

As for GNOME, I really like the aesthetic and ethos, and the functionality is mostly there, but there are some puzzling omissions (and bugs). I am sorry if these are not new complaints, but even finding support is difficult when you don’t yet know what to look for, what is actually an issue, how to phrase it, etc. I’ve actually been using Bing’s AI as a bit of an assistant troubleshooter.

The most obvious “friction” is with search. Coming from Windows, I was expecting an improvement, and the speed and reliability is great, but I have trouble with some basic tasks that I feel could put off some beginners.
There doesn’t seem to be support for entering plain file/folder paths or URLs, yet those should be fairly easy to parse. I can’t tell if there is a prefix system like with PowerToys Run either.

For one thing, the firefox search widget is hidden when firefox is closed. This isn’t a bug from what I can tell online. I might not understand the intricacies of development, but I think it is possible to run queries if the browser is not yet open. I can even do it from the terminal with ‘firefox -search query’, and other apps like Wike (Wikipedia clients) can even pull live suggestions into their search widget while closed, though Web/Epiphany behaves like Firefox.