An IoC Container for Vala

Several days ago, here on Discourse someone asked about an IoC Container for Vala. Reading it, I became curious and started searching about it, finding that there was an apparent IoC Container called libmodulo, but all the references to the code seem to be dead.

Since I’m relatively new to the topic, I started researching control inversion, dependency injection, and how IoC Containers worked in other languages, until I became interested in testing it in Vala as well.

I developed a small Object Factory like the one described by @nielsdg, but more generic, making use of Vala’s reflection abilities, and I improved it over time (several experiments are visible in a group of Russian Telegram about Vala, managed by @gavr) . And now that I think I have something relatively useful (although still very small) I have decided to publish it as a small library.

It is called Vadi, and it only has one class that inherits from GLib.Object, and that implements 4 methods: register_type (), register_factory (), register_instance () and resolve (). It’s kind of inspired of C# Unity and a couple of JS examples of articles on the topic. And the idea of ​​use is as follows:

interface Service : Object {

public abstract void serve ();
}

class FoodService : Service, Object {

public void serve () {
        message ("I'm serving food");
    }
}

class Client : Object {

// You need to declare your dependencies as public construct or
    // construct-only properties
    public Service service { get; construct; }

public void use_service () requires (this.service != null) {
        this.service.serve ();
    }
}

void main () {
    // Then you need to instance and configure the container
    var container = new Vadi.Container ();
    container.register_type (typeof (Service), typeof (FoodService));

var client = (Client) container.resolve (typeof (Client));
    client.use_service (); // Output: "I'm serving food"
}