"Activities Indicator" Behaviour on Closing All Windows on First Workspace

Unless I am in a muddle it appears that if you have windows setup on more than one workspace, close all the windows on the first workspace GNOME attempts to make the 2nd workspace the 1st, but the “Activities Indicator” doesn’t appear to be aware of this happening, so scrolling using the indicator gets a bit lost.

Or, to put it another way, closing all windows on the 1st workspace should naturally shuffle the 2nd, 3rd workspaces “to the left” and this is expected behavior but the “Activities Indicator” isn’t immediately aware of it.

I’ve tried twice to articulate the same thing… hope someone can understand me!