How to: grid of panes

Hi
I am new to GTK and would like to know what layout containers would I have to use in order to create a grid of panes. My initial idea was to use GtkPaned until I realized that it can only have 2 panes.

I am trying to create an interface similar to that of the acme editor shown at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dP1xVpMPn8M

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I did that in my NEd Nim editor, and I think gedit does it also: Start with one GtkSourceView widget, and split that one vertically or horizontally into a GtkPaned, each containing a new GtkSourceView. Repeat as long as you like.

Ah ok :slight_smile: Did not realize I could keep doing +1 on the pane. Will try it out.
Thanks a lot Stefan

If it is not obvious how to do it, then you may have a look in my NEd code at https://github.com/StefanSalewski/NEd. It was really easy, collapsing a GtkPaned with two GtkSourceView into one single GtkSourceView too. But I thing I have never managed to store the actual state, so one has always to start with a single GtkSourceView, which is then replaced with a GtkPaned containing a GtkSourceView in each Pane and so on. Note that NEd will not compile with latest Nim Compiler, I have not touched its code for some years…

Got it working. Thanks a lot Stefan

Stefan, is it possible to drag the panes around? I am not talking about the separator but the pane itself.

Yes, from GitHub - StefanSalewski/NEd: Plain GTK3-Sourceview based Nim editor with nimsuggest support documentation: