GLArea GTK3-GTK4 differences

Hi,

I’m new to GTK & OpenCASCADE, but I’d say I’m a fairly competent programmer, although I haven’t done any C/C++ development in more than 10 years.

I’m trying to integrate OpenCASCADE with GTK4 usign gtkmm-4.0 bindings. I found this example demonstrating how to do it in GTK3: github.com/gkv311/occt-samples-gtk and I hit a wall trying to figure out by myself.

There are other people not understanding some of what’s happening either:

In the OpenCASCADE + GTK3 example there is some initialization done in the realize callback that fails in GTK4.

I started doing some tests, but I don’t understand the behavior.

• https://github.com/razcore-rad/occt-gtk/tree/official-gtk in this branch I tested Gtk::GLArea.get_width() and Gtk::GLArea.get_height()using the official GLArea example from gtkmm, because like the person from How can a GtkGlArea’ size be 0 x 0 […], I don’t understand why size = 0 x 0.

• https://github.com/razcore-rad/occt-gtk/tree/other In this branch I adapted the stackoverflow example for GTK3 & GTK4, plus made some bare-bones tests for checking out the behaviors between the two versions.

What I can see from the stackoverflow_v4 example is that glewInit() gives an error in on_my_realize() function, but even with the error the program still runs correctly - it makes the area blue.

The difference with stackoverflow_v3is that glewInit()doesn’t throw an error, but commenting it out also doesn’t throw any errors and the program behaves correctly - it makes the area blue.

Although it seems that GTK3 re-renders constantly while GTK4 only on resize or some event that triggers the re-render.

The reason I’m concerned about initializing the OpenGL context is because I have no idea what are the implications with OpenCASCADE if we don’t do it (using the OpenCASCADE API).

Please help us clarify what’s happening here, thanks!