Clutter C++ bindings in 2020

I’m new to development using C++ and GNOME tools and I’m just trying to get setup. I want to use Clutter from C++. On first glance it would seem cluttermm is the thing to use, but after inspecting the github repo it looks like it hasn’t been updated in years.

If cluttermm is not viable, what are my options for using clutter from C++?

PS. Apologies if this is not in the right place.

1 Like

Clutter is in deep maintenance mode, and I would not recommend writing new code with it. Clutter’s API itself hasn’t changed in years, and won’t ever change, at this point.

The question is: what are you trying to achieve?

So Clutter will be soon replaced by GTK 4.0 ?

Can you please tell me what was the reason behind development of Clutter? In what way does it differ from GTK itself? :smiley:

Yes, that’s the plan. “Soon” may be an overstatement, but we do plan to release GTK4 later this year.

Clutter was developed in 2006 with the goal to be a technological demonstrator for writing full screen media players on embedded and resource constrained devices, like the old ultra-mobile PC platforms. After 2007-2008, it got repurposed as a way to create new, mobile user interfaces, using hardware acceleration (GL and GLES) and providing an animation framework to create new UI toolkits. Additionally, it was used to write desktop shells, like Moblin and GNOME 3.

You can think of Clutter as a prototype for many of the design choices that are now being used by GTK4:

• explicit scene graph API, like the Web’s DOM, instead of implicit API like GTK1, 2, and 3
  • deferred rendering through a retained tree of paint primitives
  • layout management decoupled from scene graph elements
  • delegation to ancillary objects instead of deep type hierarchies