Assembling PNG tiles automatically to create an image

Hi,

this is my first post to this forum, I hope I’m going it right, and at the correct place.

I have a very simple problem to solve but I’m not a Gimp pro, ad could not find a good answer by searching on the web, then on this forum.

I have an image made of hundreds of tiles, all 128x128 in png format, and I would like to program a small code that will place all the tiles to build the complete image.

It seems the .png do contain some X-Y shifting information because if I drag and drop one of these, Gimp asks me if I want to keep the X-Y shift. One issue is that if I say yes, it actually does not keep it and places the tile in the middle of the canvas :frowning:

If that were working, maybe a manual drag and drop of all the tiles would make it.
One potential issue though, is that each tile seems to be created on a separate layer. As there are about 1000 tiles per image, I do not know if GIMP is supporting that number of un-flatten layers.

So, what would be the best way to proceed ? Ideally a small program looping on each tile and placing them automatically on the surface would be good to have.

Thanks for sharing your ideas.

Hi, no idea from anyone ?
At least wrt the shift that does not seem to be working correctly in Gimp ?

Thanks.

Perhaps it’s already done, check the scripts ofn-tiles (tiles are files) and ofn-layer-tiles (tiles are layers), both available here. Installation instructions at the bottom of the page, and the ZIP contains a HTML doc well worth reading.

Thanks for this Ofnuts. I’m kind of very new on Gimp and have not managed to find the way to install this scrtip. I have tried to copy it in plug_ins inr scrtips and none of them made the magic menu entries added :frowning:
I’m using GIMP 2.10.24 (révision 3) and wonder if that script, created back in 2017, mais need to be updated.